Peptifact

Cagrilintide Dosage: The 2.4 mg Figure Comes From a Trial of the Drug Alone — Almost Nothing Else Does

Cagrilintide has 43 registrations, all from one sponsor, and 27 of them study it combined with semaglutide. The only phase 3 that tests it alone is in children and has not reported. Reported with sources and dates.

Robert F · Edited by Caroline S · Published 2026-09-09

Illustration: A single clear glass vial with lyophilized powder on a cool grey slate surface.
Illustration

Cagrilintide draws more dosage searches than any other single compound on this site's dosage queue, and it has a curious problem behind it: almost everything that has been tested is the compound combined with something else. The number people quote for cagrilintide on its own rests on one phase 2 trial.

This page reports what the registry holds, with the records and dates. It does not recommend anything and it is not a protocol. Our guide to reading a dosing claim sets out why a trial arm and a dose are different objects.

What cagrilintide is, and is not

Cagrilintide is a long-acting analogue of amylin, a pancreatic hormone that acts on satiety through a different pathway from the GLP-1 receptor. It carries the development codes NNC0174-0833 and, in later records, NNC0174-1213. It has no approved label in any jurisdiction.

The pathway distinction is not pedantry here — it is the reason the development programme looks the way it does. Because amylin and GLP-1 act separately, cagrilintide was developed as a partner to semaglutide rather than as a competitor, and the resulting combination product, CagriSema, is what the programme has mostly been testing.

The registry, counted

Checked on ClinicalTrials.gov on 2026-09-09, with cagrilintide as the intervention:

Count
Registrations naming cagrilintide 43
Lead sponsor Novo Nordisk A/S 43
Any other sponsor 0
Study titles naming CagriSema 27
Phase 3 registrations with a cagrilintide-alone arm 1
Withdrawn with zero enrolment 2

Two of those rows deserve stating plainly. Every registration in existence belongs to the manufacturer — there is no academic study, no competitor comparison, no independent replication of anything. And the phase 3 programme tests the combination, with a single exception.

The one trial the dose figures come from

NCT03856047 is a completed phase 2 study of 706 participants with overweight or obesity. Its registered arms are the source of essentially every cagrilintide dose figure in circulation:

Arm Comparator
NNC0174-0833, 0.3 mg once weekly Matched placebo
NNC0174-0833, 0.6 mg once weekly Matched placebo
NNC0174-0833, 1.2 mg once weekly Matched placebo
NNC0174-0833, 2.4 mg once weekly Matched placebo
NNC0174-0833, 4.5 mg once weekly Matched placebo
Liraglutide 3.0 mg Matched placebo

Two observations follow directly, and neither requires disputing the study.

2.4 mg is not the top of the range. It is the fourth of five arms, and a 4.5 mg arm ran beside it. The reason 2.4 mg became the circulating figure is that it is the dose carried into CagriSema, where cagrilintide and semaglutide are each dosed at 2.4 mg. So the number people quote for the compound alone was selected for the compound in combination.

The trial had an active comparator. Liraglutide 3.0 mg, an approved drug, ran in the same study — which is more than most compounds this site covers have ever had, and it is worth crediting where it exists.

The gap the programme has not closed

Trace the phase 3 registrations and the picture is consistent: REDEFINE and its siblings test CagriSema against semaglutide, against tirzepatide, against placebo, in diabetes and in obesity, at enrolments in the thousands. What almost none of them test is cagrilintide by itself.

The single exception is NCT07253285, a 460-participant phase 3 study in children and adolescents with excess body weight, which randomises participants to CagriSema, semaglutide, cagrilintide alone or placebo, with a 16-week escalation and 52 weeks of maintenance. It was recruiting on 2026-09-09 and has posted no results.

So the state of the evidence for cagrilintide administered on its own, as it is sold, is: one completed phase 2 dose-ranging study in 706 adults, and one phase 3 study in children that has not reported. Everything else in the registry is about a two-drug product.

That is a specific claim about what is missing rather than a general complaint that evidence is thin, and it is the kind of absence worth distinguishing carefully. This site's MOTS-c page drew the distinction between a registry that is empty for jurisdictional reasons, one empty for chronological reasons, and one empty because the work was never done. Cagrilintide is a fourth case again: the work was done, extensively, on a different question from the one a solo buyer is asking.

What a vial does not come with

Cagrilintide sold as a research chemical arrives without a label, without an indication, and without the trial's screening, monitoring and matched placebo. It also arrives with a milligram figure describing what the vial is said to hold rather than what was administered to anyone — the distinction our certificate-of-analysis guide works through, where purity measured as an area percentage of detected material and peptide content measured as a mass fraction of the vial are different quantities that a dose calculation can silently confuse.

The comparison worth holding onto is with semaglutide, where a regulator has reviewed the same manufacturer's data and produced five distinct labelled schedules with escalation intervals, indications and exclusions attached. Cagrilintide has the trials and not the review.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cagrilintide dose?

There is no approved dose, because there is no approved label. The figures in circulation come from NCT03856047, a completed phase 2 study of 706 participants that ran five arms — 0.3, 0.6, 1.2, 2.4 and 4.5 mg once weekly — each against a matched placebo, with liraglutide 3.0 mg as an active comparator. The commonly quoted 2.4 mg is one of those five arms.

Why is 2.4 mg the figure everyone quotes?

It is the dose carried forward into the CagriSema combination, where cagrilintide is paired with semaglutide at 2.4 mg each. It is not the highest dose that has been studied — the same phase 2 trial ran a 4.5 mg arm — and it was not selected for cagrilintide used alone. The number reached general circulation attached to a combination product.

Has cagrilintide been tested on its own at phase 3?

Once, and not in adults. NCT07253285 is a 460-participant phase 3 study in children and adolescents with excess body weight, with four arms: CagriSema, semaglutide, cagrilintide alone and placebo. It was recruiting on 2026-09-09 and has posted no results. Every other phase 3 registration in the programme studies the combination.

Who has studied cagrilintide?

One company. All 43 registrations naming cagrilintide on 2026-09-09 list Novo Nordisk A/S as the lead sponsor. There is no independent trial of the compound in the registry — not an academic study, not a competitor's comparison, nothing filed by anyone else.

Is cagrilintide a GLP-1 drug?

No. It is a long-acting amylin analogue, a different hormone pathway from the GLP-1 receptor agonists, which is why it is developed as a partner to semaglutide rather than as an alternative to it. That distinction matters for reading the trial record: results from CagriSema studies describe two drugs acting together, and they do not establish what either does alone.

What does the withdrawn-study count tell us?

Two registrations in the programme were withdrawn before enrolling anyone — NCT07357766 at phase 3 and NCT07357740 at phase 2, both comparisons of different injectable versions of the compound. A withdrawal at zero enrolment is a programme decision rather than a safety result, and neither record states a reason, so it should not be read as either.